Daily Archives: January 15, 2012

I am in control.

 I am absolutely going to probably make some folks mad this morning. But I don’t really care, because generally I make people angry anyway. (HELLO, I work in HR.) So I’ve lost 5 lbs since my last blog post. Yippy oh, yippy yay. That’s not what this is about.

I have recently noticed the influx of people giving up and going the way of diets. And I don’t mean diets in the way of watching what you are eating and not treating your stomach like a garbage can. i mean diets in that you let someone else dictate what you eat, when you eat, how much you eat. And I find it ridiculous. Sure I am counting calories right now and being more conscience about what I am putting in my body (minus the bag of dill pickle potato chips I ate for dinner last night. But hey – I still did not go above the number of calories I should eat in a day, so hey!)

My friend Jen wrote about this exact thing the other day, which is most likely why I can’t stop thinking about it. But let’s break it down and compare to other moments in life:

1.) Jr. High/High School: I allowed what was “cool” dictate what I wore, how I talked and what I participated in. I barely allowed myself to be my own true self. Then again, I did go to some heinous catholic schools where I was mocked viciously. Another post for another day, however.

2.) College: I don’t even know what to say about this one. So I’m just going to skip it. It was fun, but it wasn’t pretty.

3.) Life in my mid-twenties: OKAY PEOPLE. This is what I call a TRAIN WRECK. From heartbreaks on various levels to being challenged personally, this is where I figured it all out. I would never do anything in which I give control over my own life to someone else. It is my life to live and I’m going to live it as I see fit. End of story.

Participating in some “fad diet” relinquishes control over my own life. Although I am counting calories as I said before, I still get to choose what it is I eat. It’s a lifestyle change as my pal Jen has said before. And I AM IN CONTROL. Not any stupid company dictating my life during the time of whatever said diet.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

