Feeling Healthy


I was just thinking today about how right now, I feel the most “fit” I have felt since probably high school. And high school was when I quit all my sports. I continued to race down hill slalom through the end of high school, but that was about it. And I didn’t do it with Cretin-Derham Hall, but with a ski school, so it was a little different. It wasn’t “serious” – it was FUN! That was the reason I had quit all my sports, especially at CDH. It wasn’t about having fun, it was about WINNING. And I was all about having fun. But when I quit my sports, so did my exercise because it was one of those, “If I had known then, what I know now.” parts of my life. I didn’t know that the future would bring the current shell of myself.

I have to say, never in my life did I think I would want to wake up early to go to the gym, or that I would think about the food I am putting in my mouth or even care this much about being HEALTHY. But it feels so good and no one can argue with me about my quest to have a healthier heart because there are so many gains to this journey. I am going to feel healthier, happier, more confident and the list goes on.

While on this part of my journey, I am learning I have to give up things, and really there are just a couple that I just have to avoid right now: sweets, ice cream and  yummy yummy treats. I know I can eventually put those things back into my diet, but it isn’t until I learn to have just one piece of chocolate. I am not there yet and it is a struggle of mine. If I have just ONE, it opens a can of worms and I am not ready to revisit the worms, yet.

What has been the toughest part of your journey? Have you had to give things up that you didn’t really want to give up?

One thought on “Feeling Healthy

  1. I feel the same way, if you look through my house, there are not cookies, not ice cream (aside from the occasional Skinny Cow Ice Cream – but my boyfriend pretty much ate them all). If I have that stuff in the house and I get hungry, I’d want to grab for it first. So instead there are bananas, carrots, pickles and other good snack food. I still crave Sweetness that sometimes is just not quenched (and usually around that time of the month), but instead of M&M’s I made a Whole Wheat Banana Bread.
    You are doing great and a great inspiration, I enjoy reading your blog. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

