Marvelous Monday: What Are You Doing For Yourself This Week?


I’ve decided to start something called Marvelous Monday. I refuse to let myself get off on the wrong foot for the week. So, each Monday I am going to start my week off right and blog about something…you guessed it, marvelous! It might be something from over the weekend, the previous week or something coming up that I am excited about. But, no negative Mondays for me!

Being healthy is about more than losing the weight and exercising. I know I have said this before and my weekend is proof. I was blessed to spend most of my weekend with Kate from Girl Meets Geek. She is an amazing woman and friend and it felt so good to just hang out and be ourselves. It felt good to not filter what I was thinking, to laugh, joke and feel like I was 16 again. We got ready together at the hotel for #80sPromTweetCrawl at Brunswick Bowl in Eden Prairie. Oh, it was so much fun! My outfit was definitely complete with crimped hair, blue eyeshadow, a feather boa (Thanks Alexa) and hot pink leg warmers.

Now, obviously, we don’t just dress up like that because we think it is fashionable. Kate is a survivor of Cervical Cancer and she truly relied on the support of the National Cervical Cancer Coalition during that time. And, being the amazing woman that she is, Kate is the founder of the Minnesota Chapter. So, the 80’s Prom was to raise money for the NCCC. It was truly a fun night and lots of great companies in the twin cities donated prizes; over 600 dollars in prizes! It was fabulous.

What was the highlight of my night? Obviously it was:

It was truly a great evening and quite frankly, the fun didn’t stop with Friday night!

On Saturday, Kate and I went to Ikea for lunch. I ate the buffalo chicken wrap and some carrots and I may have eaten some of Kate’s chocolate cake, but you’ll never know because there is no photographic evidence.

Yeah, I had pretty much eaten the whole thing before I remembered to take a picture. Sorry! But you CAN enjoy my wonderful carrots.

After lunch, we wandered around Ikea for a while. There were some questionable items. For example, I think i have found the print for the next dress I would like to own.

But REALLY, what IS this? I don’t think I’d even put this in a child’s room.

We tried out some furniture, looks around some more and then headed off to ARC in Richfield and then a lovely little consignment shop. I almost bought this shirt, but Kate talked me out of it. I really think I was the one who lost out though.

So, this is proof of a much needed weekend of a lot of girl-fun. Part of being health is about who you are surrounding yourself with. Are you taking time for yourself to do something fun? Being healthy isn’t ALL about what we are eating, how much we are exercising – it is so much beyond that.

What are you going to do for yourself this week?

14 thoughts on “Marvelous Monday: What Are You Doing For Yourself This Week?

  1. I LOVE your idea for marvelous Monday. It looks like you had a lot of fun! I wish I was there!

    And you are SO right about how being healthy is more than just diet and exercise. It’s about taking time to do the things that make you happy! 🙂

    And how could you NOT get that shirt?! It’s stylin’! 😀

    Glad you had a great weekend!

    Hope

    • In retrospect, I really should have gotten that shirt, huh? I bet it’s still at the store for me to change my mind… 🙂

      Thanks for the comment, my dear. I hope you have a Marvelous Monday!

  2. Marvelous Mondays – what a great idea!

    I’m an eternal optimist, so taking a day that usually a grind and turning it into something positive is right up my alley!

    I think I like the IKEA fabric better for a dress than curtains! And I think you totally could have rocked that shirt, too.

    It was great to meet you last night, and thanks for the popsicles! Looking forward to Centennial Lakes on May 16!

    • Thanks for coming last night, Kelly! It was really fun to meet you! You’ll have to let me know if you ever need a date for a Twins game. 🙂

  3. Gute Gesundheit des Kreislaufsystems ist nicht nur gut
    fürs Herz und den Blutdruck, sondern auch für ein geringeres Risiko,
    an Alzheimer zu erkranken.

Leave a Reply

