I Am The Lucky One


That is what friendship looks like. I met Mary, Alexa, Jen and Meghan at the Prior Fat Girl meet-up in January and it’s been amazing to have them in my life ever since. Mary, Jen, Meghan and I had been in cahoots the last couple weeks as we planned a surprise bridal shower for Alexa. And she was so surprised! I loved it. I hate being surprised, but love surprising others.

We had a wonderful little Mexican fiesta on Friday night. There was a delicious array of food. Meghan made an excellent chicken dish – so we had fajitas.

Okay, yes, I may have enjoyed some delicious wine as well.

Yes, in the first picture, you saw a piñata. And we all took turns swinging at the burro until it collapsed and treats exploded!

I really can’t explain how much it means to have these ladies as friends. They are a great source of laughter, knowledge, and they keep me going. Between meeting for workouts (when I can – I live on wrong side of the river), having company to pick out new running shoes, and everything in between. I am so blessed to have found them. They are like my Ya-Ya Sisterhood. I’ve said it before, but I am saying it again.

And, one more exciting thing! Tomorrow (Sunday) is another edition of the Twin Cities Walking Club Alexa and I have put together. We will be meeting in Edina at Centennial Lakes, which is a 1.43 Mile walk around. We’ll do the Lake once, meeting at 6:00 and then leave for the walk at 6:10 p.m. sharp. The address for Centennial Lakes is: 7499 France Avenue South, Edina, MN 55435. Once Alexa and I meet (we are usually there a bit early) we will tweet our meeting spot! So be on the lookout.

Also, as a reminder, we are planning to go to Good Earth for dinner after! So bring your appetite if you plan on coming and let me know if you are going to join us for dinner and have not yet. Can’t come to the walk but want to meet us for dinner? No problem! We are planning to meet for dinner at 7pm.

I hope to see many of your faces there!

5 thoughts on “I Am The Lucky One

  1. I just found your blog through Prior Fat Girl’s guest post that you did.

    What an awesome story. Thanks so much for sharing. I definitely want to continue reading about your journey. I think its amazing you’ve been able to find such amazing friends through the blog world.

  2. I am so jealous. I want to join you guys, then again, I could be your mother (I’m 45) and I live in Northern Virginia, but the walk and dinner sound great. I, also saw you on Jen’s site. I look forward to the journey with you (I, too, have the UPS and the DOWNS.

  3. I saw you on Jen’s site and LOVED LOVE LOVED the guest post. What an awesome (and relate-able story). So excited to keep reading!

Leave a Reply

