Cat Cora in the Twin Cities


I mentioned yesterday that I met Cat Cora and my reasoning behind it was my dotting father. I really do love that man. Maybe I will talk about him in a later post. I consider him to be on his own healthy eating journey. The man looks amazing!

Cat Cora is part of the Macy’s Culinary Council and she was right here in the Twin Cities yesterday! I had actually never heard of her before, but had watched a few episodes of Iron Chef with my dad. He is an absolute fanatic when it comes to those cooking shows, so it has been fun to be able to meet her and get her to sign her cookbook for him!

Many of the Blogging ladies I hold near and dear to my heart had the chance to meet Cat Cora prior to her demonstration. I am a woman who says “YES” to often, so I was running around like a crazy lady in the morning and just didn’t get there in time. But I am completely fine with that.

Cat Cora in action:

Cat Cora made two recipes:

Grilled Chili-Lime Flank Steak Soft Tacos with Charred Pineapple Salsa

I really loved this recipe! The steak was so incredibly tender and full of great flavor. And the salsa was SO delicious! I think there are a lot of great fruits that could substitute if someone doesn’t like pineapple. The verdict: Delicious and fabulous for summer!

Grapefruit and Cherry Ambrosia with Honey Cream (photo credit: Five Dollar Day Blog)

Again, delicious. I am a huge fan of most fruit, so this was not a hard sell for me! The cream was also SO yummy. Added a little extra sweetness. But this would be good without the cream as well.

I’m really excited to make both of these recipes on my own, too. I really enjoyed Cat Cora’s candor and what she is doing to educate children on the importance of healthy eating as well. I don’t think I truly understood the importance of healthy eating until I was overweight. And even then (in college) it was a constant struggle.

Now, I don’t feel right just putting the recipes on my blog for anyone, so if you truly want the recipes pictured above, please e-mail me, and I am happy to share them with friends. 🙂

And now, to get ready for the week ahead. How is it Sunday already?!

3 thoughts on “Cat Cora in the Twin Cities

  1. Yay!! I cant believe we were both there… so crazy!! Did you have fun? I actually didnt try anything she made… but it looked good! 😉

    Such a pretty blog… so glad to have ‘met’ you!!

    Blessings-
    Amanda

Leave a Reply

