Pre-Workout Snacks


Since I started boot camp, I have the tendency to eat around noon (sometimes before, sometimes after) and then not again until dinner. Keep in mind, I go to the gym after work for this high intensity workout. If I’m not rushing around to leave for work in the morning (RARE) I might grab something for the car ride to the gym.

Yesterday, I was diligent and picked up some granola bars from the grocery store that I will just leave in my gym bag. This way I won’t have to worry about forgetting to grab them. I purchased Sunbelt Granola Bars. They are just the oatmeal raisin ones. Really, they are the first ones I found as I strolled through the isle.

Just a tiny little granola bar.

Nutrition facts. What I love is that while it might not be the best choice as far as granola bars go, it almost doesn’t even matter because it is worked off by the time I leave the gym.

Today we did cardio at boot camp. We did squats, kicks, shuffling, running, jumping jacks, jump rope, BURPIES – and so much more. It was definitely a jam packed hour of fun.

Was I satisfied after an hour of boot camp? Oh, kind of. But I could keep going.

SO I DID!

There is a 30 minute class at 6:30, so I stayed and ripped up the gym for another 30 minutes.

I definitely felt warm, satisfied, sweaty and good after an hour and a half of boot camp!

It amazes me how a five minute rest, a few sips of water and a deep breath can keep me going for a whole other class! I continue to impress myself at my ability to constantly push myself to great lengths at the gym. It feels good.

What has surprised you most about yourself recently during your workouts?

3 thoughts on “Pre-Workout Snacks

  1. Jess says:

    Great job, Cindy! 🙂 Boot camp sounds like a lot of fun (and pain), haha.

    I find that checking the ingredient list is sometimes more important (to me) than the nutritional facts. I steer clear of any really icky preservatives or that evil thing, high fructose corn syrup. Especially when you’re burning so many calories, I think the quality of the ingredients is more important overall!

    Well, I’ve been doing a combination of running/walking more (than just straight running), which has been kind of disappointing. However, I realized that my overall pace is getting faster. Yesterday when I ran 1.8 miles straight, I was going at a much faster clip than I normally do (almost an entire minute faster!). So I definitely need to account for that.

    • Cindy says:

      Boot camp is really very rockin’. I love how much I SWEAT. It is crazy business. I really should get organic granola bars and not worry about the calories/fat because I truly will work off the caloric intake in each workout. High fructose corn syrup needs to jump off a cliff. Seriously.

      I’m so impressed with your running, lady! You are doing amazing. Are you enjoying it?

      • Jess says:

        I really like Kashi’s granola bars. Boot camp sounds great because it’s a full body workout! But I really hate going to the gym and I feel like my upper body would fail miserably. (At the same time, I reaaaally need to do more upper body work, ack.)

        I know, HFCS is the devil, I swear.

        Yeah, I love running! I’m an addict now. If you told me in January I’d be running not only one mile, but multiple miles (with plans to run a half marathon!), I would say you’re NUTS. Funny how things change.

Leave a Reply

