Bubba Gumps & Working Out


When the world says, “Give up,”
Hope whispers, “Try it one more time.”
~Author Unknown

Last week was…last week. It is gone and today is a new day. Except for all those chocolates I ate from my boss’s candy dish. I think that was the worst thing about my promotion. I’m in her office all the time! I’m lucky to work very closely with my boss but grrr, the chocolate.

On Sunday, I went to the mall to return some pieces from my birthday and lucky me, Jen was also headed that way, too! (Thanks for letting my steal your picture, Jen.)

It is clearly, no shower Sunday for me in this photo. I just thought I was running a quick errand! πŸ™‚

We had some delicious lunch at Bubba Gumps at the Mall of America. I usually tend to avoid that place, but I’m so glad I didn’t on Sunday! It’s not everyday a man in a shrimp suit tries to maw your face off. Yeah, it was a tad creepy.

Not creepy, though?

My pear and berry salad with raspberry vinaigrette.

I totally wanted to ask for another TO GO it was so good. I don’t think I even talked very much. I was just happy as a clam gnawing away on my salad. I may try to make this salad myself. I just love love love fruit on salad. I love fruit, so I guess this isn’t a big surprise.

On Working Out:

Last week was a little a major fail in regard to working out. I was incredibly tired the whole week and all I wanted to do after work was go home and sleep or just sit. I made it back to the gym today with a smile. I squatted, jump roped, ran, lifted, pulled, pushed and it felt really good. I like doing my class. My instructor is a hoot and we have a good time. I think I am officially the girl who dances while she works out. And I’m okay with it. I try not to take myself TOO seriously because there are some things I literally cannot do because of my injury (it just hurts a lot) and some things I don’t like to do. My wonderful instructor said she doesn’t care as long as I am moving for the full hour – which I am! It just means sometimes I am shakin’ my hips instead of doing jumping jacks.

How do you get through workout slumps? Do you just make yourself go or do you take a break?

3 thoughts on “Bubba Gumps & Working Out

  1. LOL @ the creepy man in the shrimp suit! That does sound creepy, and I’m glad you managed to avoid him! πŸ˜€

    I totally have weeks in the past where I’ve been super-tired and not really wanting to work out. On those weeks, I at least work out a 2-3 times, depending on how I feel after the first workout. If the working out makes me more tired, I just don’t worry about it, and get back to it the next week. But if it gives me energy, I try to go when I can, even though I don’t want to. However, that’s not my hard and fast rule, it’s more like a “guideline.” Glad you enjoyed your workout back! πŸ™‚

    P.S. How have I not found your blog before?

  2. I almost always make myself just go do it . . . exceptions would be during that time of the month or when my body is just telling me I need rest. I try not to get legalistic about it I guess! It all averages out to be 3-5 times a week, sometimes more.

  3. I try to work through workout slumps by changing up my exercise routine – usually most of my workout involves running, so sometimes I add in more yoga/abs.

    Basically, when I get home from work, I just throw on my workout clothes no matter what and just force myself out the door.

Leave a Reply

