On Monday I Ran


Yesterday I got to the gym and did my final measurements from my boot camp class. I lost a few inches here and there. Even in my neck!

After I was measured I hopped on my old friend the treadmill. I haven’t really run since my last 5k. The one where I cried. I’ve decided to start getting on the treadmill for 30 minutes two days a week. I’m going to do some interval training. Three and One. Run three minutes and walk one. I considered Five and One, but I don’t want to push my body too much too soon.

And I survived!

I was pretty thrilled with making it through the run. I did end up walking about the last four minutes because my knees just started screaming when I hit 23 minutes. So I made it only a few more minutes before I just had to walk. I was bummed. But I still did it!

BAM. This is what survival looks like.

I really have nothing to say other than the fact that I did just survive. There were so many moments after the first couple round of three-minute runs portions that I just kept wanting to walk, but I powered through. I know that by giving up and walking I’m really only letting myself down. As lame as that sounds – no one else is going to truly care if I walk or not. Lucky for me my friends like me for me and not my running skills. Good thing for me.

It can only get better from here.

3 thoughts on “On Monday I Ran

  1. Jess says:

    Great job, Cindy! I’m so happy for you! That’s the wonderful thing about running; you can run for you, and the only person you’re competing against is yourself. And walking is definitely not a bad thing; I still find myself walking at times, especially during longer runs. I remember when you told me to start slow and steady. 🙂

  2. I want neck measurements! I totally have a tape for that.

    Also, WAY TO GO!!!

    I got back on the treadmill last night as well (and it’s totally your fault, but thank you).

    –BBMBFF

  3. Rock on, lady! Every minute on the treadmill is SUCH an accomplishment. I know when I’m not racing, I rock the 3-2 (3 mintues running, 2 minutes walking) or the 4-1. It gets you working and gives you time to breathe for sure.

Leave a Reply

