Emotion Eating Wins This Round


It’s funny how easy it is to let emotions control the way a person eats, or even just the circumstance of life. Being on the go or waking up late and not having time to make lunch and the night before you got home late and wanted nothing but sleep. This has been my life for the past two weeks. It’s not bad, but it certainly is not good for someone who needs to planning her eats.

I went about three days and barely ate much but a banana or something similar because of stress. Stress tends to control my life. And then my stomach decided to release its knots and it was as if my body said, “yo, girlfriend, you haven’t eaten in DAYS, I would like to scarf anything in sight.” And you know what? I did. I can’t sit here and say I didn’t because the fact of the matter is, I failed.

Maybe fail is too strong of a word, but I fell of the path. I came home from work tonight and I took a deep breath before heading back out the door to get a much needed relaxing pedicure. And what did I do when I was making dinner after said pedicure? Yeah, I ate three Oreos. I realize it would be worse, but I was not happy with myself.

Deep breath.

I’m not perfect and I know this. It is just hard.

I got some news this week about some things I was pursuing professionally that was not GREAT, but I am ready to get my emotions back in control.

How’s that for vague?

2 thoughts on “Emotion Eating Wins This Round

  1. Hey girlfriend, hope you are feeling less stressed and get everything in check. Everybody has those slip-ups with emotional eating. What’s important is that you recognized it, and are making steps in the right direction!! You can do it!! 🙂

  2. Girl – glass half full…It was only three oreos.

    Emotional eating is SO hard because it’s always something that you really WANT and the shameful feeling is awful. In the grand scheme, it’s only a molehill, but at the time it’s a mountain.

Leave a Reply

