The Work-out Dilemma


There are parts to all of us that hate working out, right? Whether it is the wanting to be home laying on the couch and watching television, hanging out with friends, or maybe just plain ol’ sleeping if you are an early riser.

My problem tends to be the following:

  • Work ends, I’m crabby. I’m tired. I want to take a nap.
  • The idea of going to workout just isn’t appealing at 5pm.
  • I would much rather not miss out on happy hours and other social events because I know I should be at the gym.

I know that eating is half the battle with trying to lose weight. But the other half? Getting over this terrible hump of not wanting to work out. I might try going to a new location of my gym and see if it helps. A change of scenery is always good.

How have you gotten over your workout humps? Do you have a workout buddy? What keeps you going to the gym or running outside?

3 thoughts on “The Work-out Dilemma

  1. Hate working out….
    By the time I get home from work, pick up the kids, get them fed, get me & the hubs fed, do tubbies, pack bags for next day, blah blah blah…last thing I want to do is work out…

  2. I struggle (a lot) to ever want to work out. After I ran the 10 mile, I took a week off of running. And then I took another week off, before I was like … AHH! So I signed up for another race, and this seems like the only way I stay motivated for the time being… have some looming goal to make me feel pressured.

  3. When I started running, I straight-up told my girlfriends that I wasn’t going to be able to “do” happy hour anymore. I still miss it terribly.

    After I get home from work, I put on workout clothes and get on the treadmill ASAP, so that then I can’t self-sabotage.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

