Oh persnickety knee.


I will say it has been a good week. However, I’m kind of bummed about something. See, the last time I ran a 5K, it didn’t go so well. I bawled after I crossed the finish line and it was all very dramatic or traumatic as the case may be. The result of said 5K? A broken knee (again, dramatic) and physical therapy. While I know the physical therapy would have helped me, I didn’t understand why I was paying a co-pay for them to watch me stand on one foot or do squats. I wasn’t seeing the ROI on this. So, I quit. I did the exercises at my gym or at home.

Fast forward. I had decided I wanted to do the Turkey Trot here in Minneapolis. Started running by doing 3 and 1 intervals. Knee survived the first week and now, it’s just painful in a way I can’t describe. I was thirty minutes into my cardio on the elliptical on Tuesday evening and it felt like my leg needed to be cut off (not dramatic.)

In any case, I’m sad to say I won’t be doing the Turkey Trot. I’m thinking of going back to the doctor and demanding they do an x-ray to simply rule out anything crazy. The whole knee thing is really becoming more of a nuisance if anything.  If you would like to trade, please leave me a comment below. I’m willing to negotiate.

But I will say this, I am two for two for workouts this week! I am on a roll! Today is going to be a strength training day and I am quite stoked! Bring on the squats and the lunges, baby.

2 thoughts on “Oh persnickety knee.

  1. MAKE them give you an MRI, NOT an X-Ray. In MRI is the only way they will really see what’s happening. I go to Dr. Moore at Tria, she’s amazing for female athletes, and easy to get into. Give her a try, tell her I sent you. =)

Leave a Reply

