Gym Ambiance: Does it really matter?


I’ve always been the person to advocate for cardio versus strength training. I mean, I burn more calories doing cardio, right?

WRONG.

So now that I have an awesome Polar Heart Rate Monitor, I was able to see how many calories I burned while I was doing my strength training on Thursday evening. My strength training does end up being kind of cardio-esque with doing push ups and other fun things. But, after 30 minutes of strength training I had burned:

Pretty awesome, huh?!

I had really surprised myself with that and it makes me happy because now I know days that I just DON’T WANT TO DO CARDIO, I can push myself even MORE with strength training. I really enjoy the strength training, actually. I think because I have a very short attention span, so I can pick four things to do and do three sets of the 4 and then move to a new round of “stuff.”

So, I wrote a post earlier this week about switching my actual gym location. And I have and you know what? I am absolutely loving it! Want to know why? Do ya?

So this is my view walking up to my gym. You can’t really tell, but there are really big windows. The gym is on ground level.

This is what I got to look at while I worked out.

I think there is a lot to be said about the ambiance in a gym. I know that sounds crazy.  I actually like that I don’t know a single person in my gym now and can just go in and get down to business. At the previous locale, I knew everyone so it ended up dragging my workout out or worse, being a distraction. I love that whether I am on a cardio machine or lifting weights, I can look outside and enjoy the view of downtown St. Paul. It is wonderful.

What do you think? Am I crazy to be concerned about the ambiance at my gym? Does that matter to you?

3 thoughts on “Gym Ambiance: Does it really matter?

Leave a Reply

