on accomplishments:


On February 27, 2010, I wrote a letter to myself. Last week, I received the letter in the mail thanks to Jen:

Dear Cindy,

I hope that when you open this letter today you feel good about yourself & proud of the things you have already accomplished in your life. You have what it takes to be healthy & happy. I hope you have taken the time you need to change your lifestyle in order to achieve your goals and be on your road to being healthy.

Sincerely,

Cindy

What can I say other than “holy crap”? I read this over a few times. Put it away. Sat on it. Shoved it in my purse and read it while out and about. Sometimes I read it with a smile on my face and sometimes I cried. “& proud of the things you have already accomplished in your life.” I have been muddling over this one. I want to outline my accomplishments in the last 4 years – as dorky as they may be:

  1. Graduated from college – this never seemed like a big deal for me. It seemed natural, graduate high school and go to college. I continue to run into folks who haven’t and so now, this is on my “things I am proud of” list.
  2. I work for a pretty great company and have a challenging job to boot.; even if I do complain about being a human punching bag.
  3. I’ve run two 5Ks. Certainly a feat for someone who hates to run.
  4. I fell in love, twice, really. Pre-blogging I loved a boy & it didn’t work out. And then I loved again. And crap, you guys, as much as the second one hurt and sometimes still does – that break up changed my world.
  5. I learned the meaning of “giving back” and have passion that surrounds it. I always joke that I am broke because I am always giving money to charity. But I’m okay with that.
  6. I’ve learned what being a friend means.
  7. I have grown leaps and bounds. I know this shouldn’t feel like an accomplishment, but it is. For someone who used to be painstakingly shy – it is huge for me when I step up and step out of myself. I’m a very quiet person in general, but growing into myself is considered an accomplishment to me.
  8. I have a savings account! Anyone who knew me in college might be laughing. I never had money. Seriously. And now that I am in a place where I am actually SAVING? Amazing.

So those are my things to be proud of that I’ve accomplished. I have a good friend who constantly sings my praises and says, “I am so proud of you.” In early October, I called her to thank her for what started off as a business relationship and helping me find my strengths and into a beautiful friendship. I’d still feel small were it not for her. I still feel awkward when people come up to me and say, “I am so proud of you!” This happens a lot, actually. Last week, I was giving a presentation on creating a 360-degree vision in business and my Jr. High English teacher and I actually work for the same company now and she was at this presentation. She came up to me afterward to give me a big hug and tell me she is proud of me.

This blog post is getting increasingly long so I am going to say this:

Wherever you are in life – whether it is personal, business or otherwise, I hope you are out there praising your accomplishments and that you have a cheerleader. While it is important for us to realize our own accomplishments and be proud of ourselves, it sure is nice to have someone else rooting for you, too.

 

5 thoughts on “on accomplishments:

  1. Girl, I am SO glad that you got to take a moment to reflect and absorb the progress that you’ve made in your life. Those moments are so few and far between. Cherish it.

  2. I just read this post and I really enjoyed it! I loved all of the things your are proud of yourself for and it made me realize how proud of myself I am too. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

