Life As We Know It


Life is difficult. There’s really no way around it; from the relationships we make and maintain, to deciding what we want to do for the rest of our lives or in my case, the food I will or will not put in my mouth.

well, let me tell you a little story about a silly girl who went to Caribou with a craving and did not look up caloric information prior to doing so.

So, one might be thinking, how horrible can white hot chocolate really be? Well, let me tell you, friends, I nearly had a heart attack at work yesterday when I looked it up after enjoying the delicious white chocolate-y goodness.

I had decided the following:

  • This would be my breakfast, so I would order a medium.
  • I would get skim milk, as always.
  • NO WHIP.

So I order my hot chocolate and wait, chat with my girlfriend. The barista loaded on the whip and I sighed to myself. I wasn’t going to make a big deal about it.

So are you ready for the nutritional information? I hope to whatever it is you believe in that you are sitting down.

Calories: 580

Fat: 32

Carbs: 58

Sugar: 57

So, you can imagine to my dismay how much I started to freak out. I started thinking about how I had already spent 14 points in the day. I only get 24 and I hadn’t even eaten anything. I was trying to figure out how I’d survive the rest of the day with 10 points as it was only 10am.

I really had to rationalize with myself and take deep breaths and say, “This was one time, your world won’t end.” And it didn’t. When I got home from work, I strapped on my heart rate monitor and did not leave the gym until I had burned at least 580 calories.

My lesson?

Caribou Coffee is evil.

3 thoughts on “Life As We Know It

  1. I had the same thing happen to me last Thursday when I got a white mocha! I love those things, but gosh they kill you on the points! I’m proud of you for having the discipline to head straight to the gym and work off those calories! Keep up the hard work chica!

  2. Evil caribou! This is the point where I would have taken two or three long, wonderful sips, thoroughly enjoyed them, and then dumped the drink in the trash, and chalked the money spent on my “treat for the day.”

  3. I used to love a Ho Ho Mint Mocha… you used to be able to do it w/out whip for around 7 points. After Caribou switched to using “real chocolate” I simply can’t rationalize the horrid amount of calories/fat anymore
    😦 I think you handled the situation brilliantly though, what is life without treats?

Leave a Reply

