“Norm!”


The gym is like my Cheers Bar. Whenever I go there, all the trainers/owners, etc. say hello and they know me pretty well.

I fell off the face of the earth in December as far as the gym is concerned. Between the holidays being just crazy and with my friend’s death, I always found a reason to go home after work and curl up in bed and not go to the gym. In retrospect, I wonder how I would have coped differently had I not let myself stop living.

Whenever I am done with a workout I look like this:

Okay, maybe not. Sometimes I look like this:

But on the inside, I feel much of what was happening in the first picture. In fact, I called a friend after my workout this morning and he said:

I love talking to you after you workout. You just sound so happy and I know you worked out. I don’t even need to see your sweat.

I thought that was so silly at first, but damn it was true. Working out just lifts whatever gross feelings I had before. If I’m mad, I run faster, lift more – and then when I’m done, I just feel like a weight has been lifted. No pun intended!

How do you feel after your workouts?

5 thoughts on ““Norm!”

  1. I had a similar experience last week after the gym, I realized how strong I felt after I worked out. I wonder, if we feel so amazing after our workouts, why is it that we (or I at least) seem to fight so much to just go and do it?

    • Jen, I think in reality, we would much rather be curled up in bed or crossing something else off our massive to-do list. I’ve reached a place with myself where I don’t feel like I have to work out for an hour – I used to feel like I wasn’t really “working out” if I wasn’t going for at least 45 minutes to an hour. So now I say, “Okay, 30 minutes of intense cardio and 5 minute cool down” and then doing weights maybe not every time but at least 2-3 times a week.

      I think at the end of the day there are a million other things we’d much rather do than workout. Because quite frankly, it SUCKS while you’re doing it. I don’t think most people put it on their “fun” list. I always always always dread going. I whine, fight and complain the whole way there.

Leave a Reply

