On running & weight-loss.


There’s this weirdness that comes with actually losing weight. It’s clothes fitting better, people noticing the changes you don’t notice with your body and the “OMG HOW ARE YOU DOING IT?” questions.

How am I doing it? I always jokingly say, “I’ve stopped eating.” But it’s kind of true. I mean, I still eat, but I’m very particular about what I’ll allow myself to eat. I’m pretty specific with it during the week and allow myself to be a little naughty over the weekend. Eggs? They are my best friend. I’ve always been really hard on programs such as Medifast. I say this because I want to figure out how to do this without losing the routine of my regular life. The reality is – sometimes I am on the run and I need to figure out how to eat on the run and not ruin myself. The other reality? Let’s say I am on the run and the easiest thing for me to do is to go through the McDonald’s drive-thru. I am not saying this is a good idea or do it all the time, but it is ONE meal. Guess what, dingbats, one meal isn’t going to make me gain five pounds. Get over it. And no, I have not eaten McDonald’s since I’ve started tracking what I eat. I am just saying. Subway continues to be my go-to “on the run” meal.

Image

 

I really told myself I wasn’t going to make this blog about every single pound I lose. But I guess you have to celebrate something. I’ve lost 11 pounds. That feels fairly significant and worth writing about. To be able to say I’ve lost that much feels good. I may or may have not done this weird dance on the scale. And then I got off and had my hand over the mouth and kept thinking to myself, “NUH UH. NO WAY.” So then I got back on the scale to make sure it wasn’t lying. I was so perplexed because I weighed myself in the evening when I’d be at my heaviest, theoretically. So the next morning I woke up and weighed myself again just to be sure. And low and behold, I indeed lost 11 pounds and that feels good for so many reasons. I’m sticking to something and finding it works. I’m not compromising my social life and I am figuring it out on my own. No one is telling me what to eat or how to do it. And I like that.

Image

 

I am becoming wildly obsessed with running. I am almost half-way through the Couch to 5K plan. I’m running a 5K before I finish the program. I thought it would just be fun to do it and it’s not about my time, or whether I run the whole thing. It’s about getting out there, being active and having FUN. There are so many times when I find myself running and I’m just smiling for no good reason. It’s stupid and feels great. So that photo. That photo I took after running on Monday. I had gone my longest distance without stopping and didn’t want to die. Progress is here and it’s happening.

And you, how are you? What good things can you tell me today?

7 thoughts on “On running & weight-loss.

  1. ” The reality is – sometimes I am on the run and I need to figure out how to eat on the run and not ruin myself. The other reality? Let’s say I am on the run and the easiest thing for me to do is to go through the McDonald’s drive-thru. I am not saying this is a good idea or do it all the time, but it is ONE meal. Guess what, dingbats, one meal isn’t going to make me gain five pounds. Get over it.”

    This is my favorite.

    Congratulations on the progress! You rock!

  2. Look at you! Pretty much killing it! You said something that echoes my own process (yes, I’ve gained and lost and gained and lost and gained and lost)… but I definitely believe that weight loss works when it’s done in the context of real life. It’s about making better choices when you can make them, and making the best of the available choices when there aren’t optimal choices. Awesome, awesome, awesome!

  3. So, so awesome, Cindy! Your positive attitude… love it! Everything in moderation… except for eggs because eggs are an amazing super food 🙂

    Keep up the kick ass running, too, and keep having FUN!

Leave a Reply

