Putting the P in PASSION.


Passion.

We all have it. Whether we are aware of it or not. When Missy from The Marketing Mama said the following on twitter:

Some blogger friends are joining me in answering the question, “What am I passionate about?” for Monday. Care to join us?

I was in so fast I didn’t really know what to do. I think about my life. My schooling, participating in sports, extracurriculars, singing in any spare moment I have, dancing like no one is watching, but what stands out to me?

Giving back.

The times I have the most fun is when I am giving back or volunteering. There are a couple of moments that stand out to me:

Volunteering at Feed My Starving Children with my team at work. I remember sitting in a chair, watching the heart-wrenching video and I could not wait to start making the meals for children who would be beyond excited to get meals that don’t even come close to what we eat every day. I had tears in my eyes while we watched the video – I’m a sap, yes – but I was looking forward to helping children who deeply needed it much more than I ever would. I can’t remember in the this moment how many meals we made, but I remember the number being incredible. After, I bought two bracelets that I wear every day (mostly- sometimes I forget!) as a reminder of what I have.

Another moment:

I manage our volunteer program with a local high school. We have volunteers who go into the school to help with college applications (essays, etc.), resume tips, tricks & writing, cover letters, job applications and interviews. It’s amazing year after year, to watch how much the students grow through out the year. These are generally students who come from broken families and have hardship and so it is always so humbling to watch them realize what they can do.

I am passionate about volunteerism because it is an opportunity to help others, but you know what? I find that sometimes I get more out of it than the organization I am working with or the people I am working with. Passion is about doing the things we LOVE that make us feel good and smile each time we think about it.

Volunteerism allows me to open my eyes and see the world through the eyes of others. And that?

That’s Passion.

Many other bloggers are joining in writing about what makes them passionate. It will definitely be worth your while to check them out:

  • Unveiling my Passions on Kate in the Kitchen
  • What am I Passionate About? on Pink Vanilla Cupcakes
  • What I am Passionate About on The Marketing Mama
  • Living with Passion on Nightlight Journeys
  • Passionate About? on Challenge: 1 Year, No Restaurants
  • On Passion on Girl Meets Geek
  • An addendum:

    So, I wrote about the bracelets I wear that I purchased from Feed My Starving Children and how I have TWO. I want to give one away. This is all about giving back, right? These bracelets symbolize the importance of giving back and are a constant reminder to me. I will put both bracelets in a hat and pull one out – and that one will go to the winner!

    To Enter:

    Leave a comment telling me what you are passionate about and why.

    That’s it!

    The fine print:

    The give away is open  U.S. Residents only. Entries must be received by Wednesday June 30, 2010 at 8:00 p.m. Central. I will announce the winner on Thursday and the winner has until Saturday July 3 at 10am Central to contact me, otherwise a new winner will be picked. I will be using the wonderfulRandom.Org website again to determine the winner.

    11 thoughts on “Putting the P in PASSION.

    1. We LOVE feed my starving children! And I love those braceletts. Many passions in my life:
      Christ, my hubby, my kiddos …
      … but this week I have a new one:
      Learning to meal plan! Just blogged about it this morning.

    2. Love this post. Love the angle you took here on volunteering. You are definitely a passionate person, girlfriend. I love your zest for life and the way you approach the challenges in front of you. Proud to call you my friend. 🙂 Thanks for talking passion with me today. xoxo

    3. I love that your passionate about giving back. That speaks to what a quality person you are. You helped me realized I’m a little self absorbed, which I needed thank you!

    4. Jumping over from Marketing Mama’s blog carnival. Great post – you obviously have a fire inside you for helping others. Thanks for sharing it!

    Leave a comment